Dropdowns

More
7 years 11 months ago #1352 by Caligari
Dropdowns was created by Caligari
So, I'm new to this great product!

1. My first task was to set up a Dropdown to allow the language to be selected, from those defined. Is there such an object/prefab already around? It seemed like something that many people would end up creating for themselves (unless they wanted to create separate buttons).

2. After that I went on to work out how to localize another Dropdown in my UI (I guess I'm using a lot of them at the moment). This dropdown is (also) populated at runtime, based on project data. I'm not overly familiar with Dropdowns, but in the end I found myself creating a LocalizedDropdown script with its own interface to allow for procedural creation and on-the-fly localization. Is there existing experience with dealing with Dropdowns and localization? In the end I have bypassed the Localize scripts entirely, which I'm surprised was necessary. That said, it wasn't difficult to create something functional in a very short time, which I take as a very good sign. :)

My first impressions have easily measured up to my (high) expectations! Impressive work!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 11 months ago #1353 by Frank
Replied by Frank on topic Dropdowns
Hi,

1. My first task was to set up a Dropdown to allow the language to be selected, from those defined. Is there such an object/prefab already around?

There is no built-in scripts to show the languages in a dropdown using NGUI or UnityUI dropdowns. I guess most games are using buttons for changing languages. so I haven't ever had (as far as I remember) a request for those.
But I see it as a useful, I will add that to my todo list and see if I can include a separated version of the Localize component for Dropdowns and lists.