I2 & Playmaker - Changing Key Names

More
6 years 3 months ago #2710 by Dakk
I am new to I2 and am using Playmaker. The major issue I am having is that the Keys have to be typed into the PM actions- if the Key/Term changes it will un-link and will need to be manually typed in again. This is a big problem for a larger project. It's simple to search and replace in code- but (AFAIK) PM does not allow for this- so changing a key/term string in I2 means finding every reference to that term in PM and changing it manually.

Here are the options I can see, but looking for a better one:
1. Live with never changing a Key/Term. This seems ok, except that translators will get this sheet and misleading/old Key names will be confusing. It will also be confusing for me and lead to bugs.

2. Create global string vars for each key in PM. Not practical.

3. Create a dedicated layer of abstraction between I2 and PM- Set up an array of the Keys and access them in PM by index and never change the order. Can change the Key string this way, but order for PM must stay the same (the order for I2 doesn't matter).

Option 3 seems the best, and is what I have implemented, but it is not ideal. I'm new to I2 and feel like I am missing something, and there is a better way to do this.
Thanks,

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 3 months ago #2711 by Frank
Hi,
Managing Keys its always a pain, I2 Localization has tools to help you deal with that, but at the end, the major thing its to do proper planning from the beginning.

Unless your project its entirely dynamic. Most of the localizations are going to be handled not in PM but by adding a Localize component to a label and setting the term in that component.
If you need to change a term's name, there is a tool that allows merging/renaming terms
inter-illusion.com/assets/I2Localization...l/CombiningKeys.html
That tool parses every component in every scene and updates the term/terms to the new name.